Ice Skates Are My Enemy

A peaceful winter day. Snow covers the ground of the forest. The little pond you can see through the trees is covered with a solid layer of ice. The perfect peace is suddenly punctuated by a scream and a dull thump, followed by some language I won’t type here.

Sorry, readers. That very un-peaceful noise was me, on ice skates. You see, I claim not to like ice skating. I say my ice skates don’t fit properly. But the truth is, I’m downright terrifiedof ice skating. When I was younger, I would glide effortlessly across the ice, mainly because I didn’t really understand what death meant. Nowadays, I’ve heard too many gruesome stories of children dying while ice skating to really enjoy the sport. I’m so cautious on ice that I don’t skate right, which usually results with me flat on my back.

2 responses to “Ice Skates Are My Enemy

  1. I think maybe if you still want to ice skate than you should go to an ice skating ring. Then you will not be afraid that you will fall into the ice!

  2. Amanda-Thanks for the suggestion, but it is not really falling through the ice that I’m afraid of, but the actual falling and hurting myself. Not that I would get THAT hurt anyway…

Leave a Reply

