A Favorite Recipe

First of all: Readers, I apologize for not posting something new in the past few days. I’ve been pretty busy (mostly homework), and I just couldn’t find time. Anyway…

I love to cook! My family is about half Italian, so you may guess that cooking is a big thing in our household. I learned from my mom, who learned from her mom, who learned from her mom, etc., etc., all the way back to the Stone Age. 🙂 I prefer simple recipes (I’m just a beginner!) and this is one of my favorites. We got it from a Quaker Cornmeal container, and I give the Quaker company full credit for this recipe. Here it is:

Easy Corn Bread

1-1/4 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup corn meal

1/4 cup sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt (optional)

1 cup milk

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 egg, beaten

 

Heat oven to 400 degrees F. Grease 8 or 9-inch pan. Combine dry ingredients [ flour, corn meal, sugar, baking powder, salt].  Stir in milk, oil, and egg, mixing just until dry ingredients are moistened. Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake 20 to25 minutes or until light golden brown and wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Serve warm.

Makes 9 servings.

 

I love this recipe served with soup or meat. It also goes great with breakfast with a little maple syrup, butter, or honey spread on it. Mmmmmm… 😀

4 responses to “A Favorite Recipe

  1. Hi Allegra!
    That sounds delicious!! Your mom is such a good cook!! You are a good cook too. I agree that the corn bread would be good with breakfast, but I differ on the side of meat soup.
    -Dominique

  2. Dominique (or Meredith): Thanks for the compliment! I apoligize for saying “soup of meat”; I actually meant to say “soup or meat”. But this cornbread does go well with meat soup! 🙂

  3. yummy!!!!

  4. This sounds yummy. Cornbread goes well with a bowl of chili too..If you like chili, that is.

Leave a Reply

