A Brief Good-bye

Readers, I’m afraid I must say that I will not be blogging for the whole of next week.  I’m going to be on a vacation to Maine; School is out ~ Finally ! 😀 I will probably have no access to the Internet, so I will use this post to display a bunch of  facts, jokes and photos to tide us all over until I return. I really apologize for the boringness of this blog in the near future, but I can’t help it. Anyway, enjoy the following bits and pieces.

Facts

  • Bolts of lighting can shoot out of an erupting volcano.
  • The 22 smallest U.S. states could all fit inside Alaska.
  • Hawaii is moving about three inches closer to Japan each year.
  • A stack of a billion dollar bills weighs more than 15 army tanks.
  • Wedding gowns have been made out of toilet paper.
  • A slinky could stretch from a sixth floor window to the ground.
  • A 5,000-year-old piece of chewing gum was discovered in Finland.
  • The biggest inhabited palace on Earth (in the southeast Asian country of Brunei) has 1,788 rooms.
  • The world’s largest milkshake was 6,000 gallons — enough to fill more than100 bathtubs.

Photos

Here are a few fun pics for you to enjoy!

This optical illusion never made it to the proper post!

This optical illusion never made it to the proper post!

I took this picture of a colonial cannon on my trip to Yorktown, VA last year.

I took this picture of a colonial cannon on my trip to Yorktown, VA last year.

This awesome pic was created and edited by my older cousin (Thanks Molly!).

This awesome pic was created and edited by my older cousin (Thanks Molly!).

The Riddle by Michael Parkes ~ Another of my favorite paintings.

The Riddle by Michael Parkes ~ Another of my favorite paintings.

 

Jokes

A few jokes from Uncle Andy’s Digest of Lewiston and Auburn, Maine ~ If you have a parent who works for a company with a boss who acts like this, be sure to share these with them! Read on and enjoy…

  • When you take a stand, you’re being bull-headed. When your boss does it, he’s being firm.
  • When you do something without being told, you’re overstepping your authority. When your boss does the same thing, he’s being initiative.
  • When you please your boss, you’re apple-polishing. When your boss pleases his boss, he’s being co-operative.
  • When you don’t do it, you’re lazy. When your boss doesn’t do it, he’s too busy.
  • When you take a long time, you’re slow. When your boss takes a long time, he’s thorough.

Enjoy all of these, and I’ll post next Sunday!

2 responses to “A Brief Good-bye

  1. You’re so lucky to be out of school already. I have a few more days. Anyway, thanks for the comment. I didn’t know you could get sick from eating too much fruit. Oh, well! Have fun in Maine. Keep in touch.
    Megan

  2. your blog is NOT boreing!:)

Leave a Reply

