What a Racquet!

Racquet as in a tennis racquet, that is. Earlier today I went to the first of a four-day series of tennis lessons for beginners. I was dreading it, complaining and fretting, but I was pleasantly surprised. Although I was the only one there who had never held a racquet before in my life, the teachers were knowledgeable, friendly, and supportive.

At the beginning of the class, they asked us to get a drink from our water bottles, and I discovered that I had forgotten mine. Luckily, my mom borrowed one from a friend of hers that was there ~ Crisis averted. Afterwards, when they announced running and stretches i thought, Oh no! This is gym class all over again!  but it was a relaxing jog and a few easy exercises.

By the end of class, I could hit backhand and forehand. We played a fun game of “tennis baseball”, in which you basically try to hit balls served to you, and if you get it and the ball is not caught by an outfielder, you go back to the end of the line to hit again. If you don’t get it or the ball is caught by an outfielder, you have to become an outfielder.

So this just goes to show that you shouldn’t worry about things before you try them. Once we all got the swing of things (pardon the pun), it was actually really enjoyable. I’m looking forward to the next class!

Leave a Reply

