The Roman Conquest Sandwich

I haven’t posted a recipe in a while, so I decided to write about one of my new favorite foods: Squash sandwiches. I know, it sounds very obscure, but really, it’s delicious. This recipe (more of an ingredient list really) is my own variation of the classic.

The Roman Conquest Sandwich

  • Two thickly cut slices of Italian bread, toasted or lightly grilled
  • Grilled veggies (I recommend summer squash, zucchini, and onion)
  • Sliced Romano cheese
  • Fresh basil leaves
  • Lemon juice
  • Ground black peppercorns
My Roman Conquest sandwich served up with some garden potatoes.

My Roman Conquest sandwich served up with some garden potatoes.

About this sandwich: I invented this variation of the sandwich (with a little help from my mom, who’s a fabulous cook) when our garden suddenly overflowed with summer squash and zucchini. The veggies were being produced at a rate of at least one of each a day! According to Mom, squash sandwiches are known and loved by those of Italian heritage such as herself. Taking inspiration from the Romano cheese and the sandwich’s origin, I named the creation the Roman Conquest because of the Italian-ness of the recipe in general and how the squashes conquered the garden.

3 responses to “The Roman Conquest Sandwich

  1. Hi Allegra!
    That sandwich looks absolutely delicious!!!!
    -Dominique

  2. That is such a great idea! I am not a fan of summer squash or zucchini for the silliest reason: I hate the way it squeaks on my teeth when I eat it! I wonder if the bread and cheese would distract me enough when eating this.

  3. Dayle Lorentz

    Once you find a place with a good menu the next step is to learn to understand it. You won’t make a good impression on your date if you order something and are then shocked to find out what it is when it gets to the table. Decide beforehand what you’re going to order and learn how to properly say it in Italian. Then, find out what Italian food your date likes and pick out some recommendations from the menu beforehand and learn how to say them. When it comes time to order and you’re reading off your selection from the menu like an Italian food connoisseur you’ll really impress your date.^

    Our new web-site
    <'http://www.caramoan.co/caramoan-beach-resort/

Leave a Reply

