Weekly Geeks: Why Haven’t I Read This Yet?

I’m excited — This is my second week over at Weekly Geeks, and when I saw weekly geeks buttonwhat the challenge was this Saturday, I knew just the thing to post about! This week’s theme was “Why Haven’t I Read This Yet?”: tell about a book that you have been thinking about reading for ages, but for some reasonenna burning cover have never picked it up. Here’s my answer.

One of my all-time favorite books is The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale. When I finished that book for the first time (I’ve reread it), I noticed in the back of the book an advertisement for the sequel, Enna Burning. Apparently, although The Goose Girlis a fairy tale retelling, it is the first book in a series called The Books of Bayern. Excited that my new favorite had several sequels, I got all rearing to go, planning to race to the bookstore as soon as I could. That was last April, and for some reason I haven’t considered getting a copy since, well, I’d say it was about February 2009, when I saw a post about Shannon Hale on a blog. I’d read Shannon Hale’s Book of a Thousand Days, and when I read about Enna Burning in that post, I thought just that: “Why haven’t I read this yet?” I really have no excuse for not getting a copy; I’m virtually surrounded by bookstores and libraries. I have a well-used card, and I’m far from broke. I’ve set my goal now to finish Enna Burning before the winter holidays start.

5 responses to “Weekly Geeks: Why Haven’t I Read This Yet?

  1. I am yet to read any Shannon Hale. Must get around it!

    Weekly Geeks: Why haven’t I read it yet?

  2. You should try Shannon Hale’s graphic novel, Rapunzel’s Revenge (which also has a sequel coming out). My post is here.

  3. I haven’t read any of Shannon Hale’s but I have this terrible habit of not reading my favourite authors. Sometimes for years.
    Happy Weekly Geeks 🙂

  4. Read it!! (if you like Shannon Hale, you’ll enjoy this too – though my fav is still Book of a Thousand Days)

  5. Shannon Hale is on my list of authors to get to some day.

Leave a Reply

