I’m just too picky for my own good

Some of us are just picky readers. I never particularly put myself in that category, but now that I think about it, I’m kinda-sorta one. Once I have a stack of books, either literally in my room, or just floating around my head, to read, I get annoyed at anything else I pick up. I know that those poor books didn’t do anything to deserve it, but…

Currently I’m pushing myself to read A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. LeGuin. I guess I’m spoiled and used to snappy modern language, ’cause this was published in the 1960s and I find it ever so dense. Apparently it’s a “magnificent high fantasy classic” (cover of the book), but oh! how boring it gets! I only made it through the first chapter and I don’t think I can stand it anymore.

Enough ranting, then, so let’s get on with it. Ms. LeGuin’s book has me so peeved that I’m just going to return my other library books before reading them, an action quite uncharacteristic of me. But this gives me an opportunity to finally read Enna Burning by Shannon Hale! Remember that Weekly Geeks post I made a while ago about that book? Here’s my opportunity. I’ll just do some informal reading and re-reading until I get a copy! Hey, I’m going to go to the bookstore this weekend! Perfect, perfect , perfect *claps hands in a childish manner*! 🙂

One response to “I’m just too picky for my own good

  1. Norwegian Bookworm

    Hi! Just wanted to say that I really like your blog! I made my own blog a few weeks ago, were I write book reviews, but it’s going to take a long time before it’s as good as your’s. Well, check it out if you want and keep up the good work 😉
    -Norwegian bookworm

    Allegra: Thanks!

Leave a Reply

