Weekly Geeks: Reader-Friendly

weekly geeks buttonHmm. This week’s Weekly Geeks topic didn’t have title, so I made up my own. According to the post, a non-book blogger said that book blogs were “confusing”. I wonder if he/she was referring to book blogs in general, or just one he had visited? Oh well, I suppose it doesn’t matter. This week, the Weekly Geeks team asks us to work on our blogs to make them more reader-friendly.

Looking at their suggestions, then at my blog, I noticed some things I could do. I added a “Meta” widget in my sidebar which, when really considered, is a repetition of the info bar at the bottom of this page. Below see a screenshot of my “meta” and “RSS feeds” widgets.

blog meta widgets

These can be found at the bottom of my right sidebar. Was the picture needed? I don’t think so, but I like to throw in a splash of color.

Another thing I thought could be done: Specifying my book reviews from personal thoughts, since this is a part book- and part personal-blog. Certainly my Weekly Geeks posts are separated by the title and category. My book reviews are lumped into my “Bookishness” blog category, which is good enough, I suppose. I think even new readers would be able to distinguish my reviews from my random ramblings. Earlier in this blog’s history, I would title reviews “Review: [insert book name here]”, but I’ve gotten more creative since. Perhaps to differentiate I could create a parent category? What do you think?

3 responses to “Weekly Geeks: Reader-Friendly

  1. hi! Welcome to Weekly Geeks and book blogging! First, I do love that you are a wp blog because so am I. 🙂 and this isn’t a template I see often. I like the posts with white backgrounds – these really stand out with the dark border. And I like your balanced interspersing of photos/bookcovers within the text. Good job. (I need to stick around and read them so I’ll do that next.) My best advice is just to have fun! Are you going to do the Read-A-Thon?

    Allegra: No, I’m not going to do the Read-A-Thon, at least I don’t think so! I’m pretty new to book blogging, so I’m not really immersed in the community. The only thing I do is Weekly Geeks. Also, (to reply to your comment on my “Favorite Books” post) most of them are YA fantasy, except for The Penderwicks by Jeeane Birdsall, which is a children’s realistic fiction. Haha looking at that old post, I need to seriously update my list! Thanks for all of the compliments!

  2. I think the bookishness category is fine for making your reviews findable (is that a word? LOL) But then, that’s how I do it, sort of, so maybe I’m not the right person to say?!

  3. Writing the title and author works. I do it.

    Weekly Geeks: Blogging Tips

Leave a Reply

