“I got a rock…”

A happy belated Halloween, readers! For those who are wondering, this post’s title is a quote from the classic children’s  cartoon film It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown! If you haven’t seen it, it’s great no matter what your age. I watched it this Halloween.

I planned to hand out candy this Halloween, so I got on a costume (I was Pandora from Greek mythology), readied my trusty candy bucket, and…waited. And waited. I finished eating supper, read a while, and paced. It was well after dark, and no Trick-or-Treaters came, even though our house was well-lit and we had a Jack-O-Lantern out front. I think I know why: Our whole street, besides our house, was dark.

After watching The Great Pumpkin and waiting some more, I watched Sleepy Hollow, a movie adaptation of Washington Irving’s The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, On Demand. I waited for Trick-or-treaters until 9 pm, but none came. Well, at least we’ll have plenty of candy left over!

So another Halloween has come and gone. I suppose I could say I wasted it, but I won’t, because I really enjoyed watching movies in anticipation. Now that it’s November, I guess it’s considered “the holidays”. Christmas music will start playing on the radio, more decorations will go up, and before you know it, I’ll be writing a post about Thanksgiving!

One response to ““I got a rock…”

  1. My friend and I always say, “I got a rock” to each other when things aren’t going our way. It doesn’t even have to be Halloween! That’s such a great film; I love them all. I got here a little late in the season, just finding your blog now, so I’ll say Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

