Why’d you have to do it, Evil Genius?

Book Title: I am a Genius of Unspeakable Evil and I Want to Be Your Class President

Author: Josh Lieb

Pub. Date: October 2009

Publisher: Penguin Group

Pages: 304

Genre: Realistic fiction/ science fiction

Age Range: Teens/ young adult

Summary/Teaser: Oliver Watson may seem like nothing more than a pitifully dumb, overweight middle-schooler. But in reality, he’s an evil genius running a secret world empire, using third-richest man in the world Lionel Sheldrake as a figurehead. When Oliver decides to run for class president, however,  he discovers that it takes more than burly bodyguards and secret rooms to convince a class that you’re worthy of presidency.

Review: My first impression: this book was hilarious. Hysterical, even. I frequently burst out laughing while reading this, and I get a little smirk on my face when I think about it, even now. Even if some of the humor was mildly insulting, it was funny; the book is told in the first person (by Oliver), and he thinks everyone else is a complete imbecile. You get the picture.

The book was liberally scattered with black-and white photographs. This was both a blessing and a curse. Generally, I don’t like having pictures interrupting the text– I like to imagine things myself (that’s the curse part). But these spy-style pics were actually kind of fun. It made the story seem more real, as if Oliver’s secret security system was actually taking pictures of goings-on of interest.

The writing style was easy-to-read and fun, but had the air of someone who’s really intelligent and knows it. It fits the tone of the story perfectly.

Overall, not one of the best books I’ve read. I myself sprung for the hardcover, but I don’t recommend that course of action to others. Unless you’re really a fan of the genre, I suggest getting a copy from the library, or else waiting until it comes out in paperback.

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

P.S. Kudos to anyone who recognized the title of this post! Did you? It’s from the lyrics of Pat Benatar’s song Evil Genius.

One response to “Why’d you have to do it, Evil Genius?

  1. I did recognize that title! Isn’t it from the Precious Time album?

    …was it justified in your mind, why’d you have to do it….

    Not her best work (my favorites are Promises in the Dark and Outlaw) but still kind of a cool song.

Leave a Reply

