Is it…the Great Pumpkin?

I’m sure all you readers know about the Great Pumpkin: the mythical Halloween being invented and unwaveringly believed in by Linus in Charles Schultz’s Peanuts comics and cartoons. Well, of course I haven’t seen the Great Pumpkin, but I have seen the beginnings of pumpkin growth on a pumpkin plant in my backyard.

Hopefully these bright orange pumpkin blossoms will grow into nice healthy Jack-O-Lantern pumpkins in time for Halloween!

2 responses to “Is it…the Great Pumpkin?

  1. That is so cool – I hope it is the great pumpkin 😀

  2. It’s been a busy week, so I have just gotten back to checking blogs. I thought I’d check out your Plants and Garden category, for my wife and I are big into gardening. How is the great pumpkin doing?

    We have had a problem with squash beetles killing our off squash plants for a couple of years. As we use organic gardening methods, we tried not planting summer or winter squash this year. Of course, my Three-sister’s garden (corn, beans, squash) had a bunch of volunteer hybrids (gourds and spaghetti squash cross pollination) come up at the base of the corn, so I let them grow until the beetles did them in. I got enough odd-ball squash to add to our home made dog food (I’ll blog about that one of these days), before I pulled up the dying vines and sent them all to the fire pit for a Viking burial.

    You can check my blog on Peaches, which I posted last night (8/19/11)… You know what I’m going to spend the day cutting up, vacuum sealing and freezing.

Leave a Reply

