What happened to the book reviews?

It has recently come to my attention that I haven’t posted a book review in about a month. This incident, for which I sincerely apologize, can only be attributed to my “recently published only” rule. This rule, which I created last fall, if I remember correctly, states that formal book reviews will only be written for books published in the past two years. In the last few weeks I haven’t gotten my hands on any of these newer books, and therefore, I haven’t written any reviews. 😦

Well, I’ve decided to loosen up on this rule a bit: I’ll write reviews for recently published books and for books that I feel I have something to say about. I usually have something to say about the books I read, so you should be seeing quite a few more reviews!

Now, to make up for the lack of reviews around here, I have three mini-reviews of the last three books I’ve read.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling

This is the third time I’ve read this book, and it was three times as good as I remembered. It has action, suspense, a hint of romance, and plenty of magic- in short, everything you’d expect from a good fantasy. This is my personal favorite out of the must-read Harry Potter series. 5 stars.

Ithaka by Adele Geras

This is the Odyssey, told from the perspective of Klymene, a young maid on the island of Ithaka. It is beautifully and carefully written, though at times a bit more descriptive than necessary. Ithaka is a powerful, thought-provoking, heartbreaking book, and a good choice for mythology fans. 4 stars.

A Nameless Witch by A. Lee Martinez

A Nameless Witch is a comic fantasy- humor and fantasy genres combined. It’s quite fantastical, and it is funny, but not impressively so. The last few chapters were disappointing and anticlimactic, and I was oddly annoyed by the fact that the main character doesn’t have a name. It does, however, hold your attention to keep the pages turning. 2 stars.

P.S. I’d also like to announce that I will be away for the next week or so and therefore unable to post. In addition, I will list all three books that I am taking with me in the “I’m currently reading” widget so you can see what I may be reading while abroad.

 

One response to “What happened to the book reviews?

  1. I didn’t enjoy the nameless witch myself. I found it mildly funny, but, like you said, disappointing.

    On the topic of book reviews, I feel I’ve terribly neglected things myself. Need to be more committed!

Leave a Reply

