Daily Archives: October 1, 2010

My Music, Re-shuffled

Yes, I’m back to that old standby filler post– What are the first 10 songs that pop up when you put your iPod on shuffle mode? But before I give you my list, I have little music-related blather for you.

Do any of you readers like to listen to music when reading or writing? I do, on both counts. When reading, I think music can provide a great “soundtrack” for the story, and if you’re listening on an iPod or similar player, you can immerse yourself further in the book’s story by blocking out outside noise. When writing, music is very inspirational for me. Rock is great for writing action scenes, and a slow, mournful song might help me better express a character’s feelings toward a negative event. If I’m stuck as to where to take a story next, I might even find a little hint in a song’s lyrics. My top pick for writing (for the book I’m working on now, anyway) is the album Everybody Else is Doing It, So Why Can’t We? by the Cranberries.

Without further ado: the first ten songs that pop up when I put my music player on shuffle…

1. “Girl Can’t Help It,” Journey

2. “Can You Hear What I’m Saying,” Toto

3. “El Condor Pasa (If I Could),” Simon & Garfunkel

4. “Magic,” The Cars

5. “Allison Road,” Gin Blossoms

6. “Gold Dust Woman,” Fleetwood Mac

7. “Shepherd Moons,” Enya

8. “Can’t Stop the World,” The Go-Go’s

9.”Angel,” Sarah McLachlan

10. “Mr. Jones,” Counting Crows