Three great weekend reads

Well, I’ve finished Beka Cooper: Terrier by Tamora Pierce. And the verdict is…? It was absolutely amazing! Despite taking a while to read, it was well worth the experience. Every word should be savored. Even after taking so long to read, I was faced with acute Post Amazing Book Depression. Right after finishing Terrier, I had a dream about it, and then could think of nothing else for a while. What other evildoers will Beka face down in future? Will she and Rosto get together? All I know is that I have to get my hands on Book Two, Bloodhound.

All of the characters were completely convincing, the action and events were believable (for a fantasy world, of course), and the imagery was fantastic without overdoing it. This is the first book by Tamora Pierce that I’ve read and actually enjoyed; I did read Sandry’s Book and found it deathly dull. What else can I say about Terrier? I loved it and it was a perfect complement to my Columbus Day weekend.

Also gracing my holiday weekend was Nightlight: A Parody by the Harvard Lampoon. Despite my vehement dislike of Twilight, I was hesitant to read this send-up, in part because of the high asking price for a slim paperback, but also in fear of provoking the anger of several close friends who also happen to be Twilight maniacs. But I sprung for Nightlight and was not disappointed. It has quite humourous and fed my anti-Twilight-ness with a vengeance.

I particularly enjoyed lines alluding to the real-world Twilight franchise, such as, “He held a stake in one hand and a Team Jacob shirt in the other.” 😆  The only thing I didn’t like was how some events in the story seemed severely disjointed (I thought she was in a graveyard! How did she have a yearbook with her?).

One last weekend read: Ghostgirl: Homecoming by Tonya Hurley. I read Ghostgirl, Book One while on my vacation in England, so just gazing at the cover of Homecoming brought back fond memories of reading late into the night at a supposedly haunted hotel in the Cotswolds and then being unable to get to sleep for hours. However, once I actually cracked open the book, things weren’t so great. It was very sequel-y and things seemed overdone at times. But, overall, it was good. I’m not really sure why, but something about the reading experience was decidedly pleasant. However, if you’re not a serious fan of Ghostgirl, I wouldn’t highly recommend it. I probably won’t be reading Book Three, Lovesick.

By the way, have you been to the Ghostgirl website yet? If not, it’s definitely worth a look! Check it out at: http://www.ghostgirl.com.

One response to “Three great weekend reads

  1. Whoa Allegra,
    I haven’t visted your blog in a while and it looks like your doing very good! I haven’t talked to you in a year! I can’t wait to see you next!

Leave a Reply

