The demigods return!

Title: The Lost Hero

Author: Rick Riordan

Pub. Date: October 2010

Publisher: Hyperion

Pages: 576

Genre: Fantasy

Age Range: Middle Grade

Synopsis/Teaser: When he wakes up on a bus on a school field trip, Jason has no idea who he is, where he came from, and how he got there. Leo and Piper insist that they’re his best friends, and he’s been on the bus all along. Enter evil storm spirits, and Jason, Leo, and Piper realize that they aren’t ordinary teenagers– they’re demigods, the children of the gods of ancient Greece. But even once they get to the place they seem to belong, Camp Half-Blood, questions abound. Why doesn’t Jason have any memories, and where does he really come from? What do the lines of the mysterious Great Prophecy mean? And where is the missing camper everyone seems worried about, Percy Jackson?

Review: I couldn’t restrain myself. I bought this book hot off the press, and I had finished it by the next day. I’m a fan of Rick Riordan’s first children’s series, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, and I couldn’t have been more delighted when I heard about The Lost Hero. I had to know what became of the gang from Camp Half-Blood, and was eager to meet some new demigods.

The Lost Hero left me in a daze. It took me several days of reflection to formulate an opinion about it other than, “OMG! THAT WAS AWESOME!” But nevertheless, the root of my opinion is still the word “awesome.” I loved the new characters and found them even more interesting than Percy and Friends. They seemed a little more believable, less idealized, perhaps. I liked the fact that this book was written in the third person and rotated focus from character to character. I think I would have preferred the rotation with first person writing– it would have made me feel less removed from the story– but overall, the difference is small.

Be warned: The Lost Hero ends on a bit of a cliffhanger. I believe I sat dumbfounded for at least a minute, reading the last sentence over and over to make sure that was really the end. Then I might have cried a little, seeing that Book Two, The Son of Neptune, won’t come out until NEXT fall. Darn it! Rick Riordan’s ending is nothing short of emotional blackmail to get us to buy the next book as soon as it comes out. I’m probably going to fall for it. But in my opinion, the 20-odd dollars is worth it. And by the way: I think I’m going to re-read the book now, so don’t be surprised if the “I’m currently reading…” widget doesn’t change.

Recommended for: Both middle graders and teenagers who love fast-paced adventures. If you liked Percy Jackson, read it ASAP.

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 possible stars.

Leave a Reply

