Ode to Deathly Hallows

I know, I know. I’m supposed to be posting a review (or a reasonable facsimile) whenever I see a movie in the theater. I’ve cheated, readers. I went to see Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallow, Part One (directed by David Yates) this past weekend, and I only just remembered that I supposedly do movie reviews, too. Since I sort of caught myself off-guard, and it’s been a few days since I saw the movie, please excuse the potential haphazardness of this “review.” Read on if you dare.

I am a huge– and I repeat, huge– fan of the Harry Potter franchise. It all started back in third grade (age 8 or 9) when I read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling. Since then, I’ve read all of the books about three times each, and seen all of the movies at least once each. However, this is the first HP movie I’ve seen in the theater. I was a bit nervous, I’ll admit. For one thing, would Lord Voldemort’s (sorry- You-Know-Who’s) slimy, nose-less state be less laughable on the big screen?

I needn’t have worried. Age-appropriate audiences (the film is rated PG-13) should have no trouble. The action is exhilarating without being gory. All of the high standards set by the previous films peak in Deathly Hallows, Part One. It was a perfect movie experience. After I got out of theater, I thought, I think I’d like to turn around, buy another set of tickets, and watch that a couple more times. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the time to do that. I would have loved to, though.

Only one thing bugged me: Ron’s Great-Auntie Muriel, or the lack of her. I think she had a few lines in the movie (the character wasn’t identified as Muriel), but her hilarious jabs from the book at Ron’s hair, Xenophilius Lovegood’s robes, and Ginny’s low-cut dress were disappointingly absent.

Other than that (and the fact that anyone who hasn’t recently read the book will be totally lost), Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part One was perfect. Hmm… an overall rating? 5 out 5, definitely. For HP fans, this one’s a no-brainer, but it will be sure to please others, too.

Image from here. Thank you!

3 responses to “Ode to Deathly Hallows

  1. Pingback: Superb Blogs! | Jacqueline's Magical Blog!

  2. These HP movies are getting better and better! I left the theatre just so impatient to see the second part of the movie (but kind of glad that it’s saved ’till July ’cause it’s something awesome to look forward to! Will be sad when all the movies are finished).

  3. Wow. That’s haphazard? Blurgh, your writing puts mine to shame (although I think that maybe that’s because I use ill-conceived pseudo-syntax like ‘blurgh’.)
    I’m a massive screaming fangirl over anything to do with HP, but I have yet to see the film. I’m even quite apprehensive about dong so; possibly because I would happily sit though six hours of Daniel Radcliffe’s adorable non-acting, Ron being a total knob, noseless Voldy repartee, watery-eyed Dobby cuteness, etc. rather than be left hanging on the edge of an incomplete story.
    The lack of Muriel one-liners is sad news, but not as sad for me, because I have a Great-Auntie who has the same epic talent for shoot-’em-downs, which I am thankful for every time I see her, oddly enough.
    So thanks, Here’s To Us. Here’s to Haz Poz (Joke name. Don’t ask.) and, um, here’s to you!

    PS. Okay. That was really lame. Sorry ;D

Leave a Reply

