Book Blogger Hop, 1-17

Well, it’s been a while since I participated in the weekly bookish meme The Book Blogger Hop, hosted by Crazy For Books. I’m determined, though, to get back in the loop. Without further ado, here’s this weekend’s question for bloggers:

“Why do you read the genre that you do? What draws you to it?”

I’ve always been most attracted to fantasies. From my very earliest days of reading, when I was laboring through the 50-page, illustrated “Easy Readers,” I wanted stories about things that I would never encounter in real life. My first favorite books were the “Magic Tree House” series by Mary Pope Osborne. Now, as a teenager, fantasy is still my preferred genre.

My theory, when it comes to reading, is: Why read realistic fiction when you can walk down the street every day and encounter those themes? I want my books to carry me away to futuristic dystopias, mountainous countries filled with bloodthirsty dragons, and medieval lands of chivalrous knights and lovely damsels. To me, reading fantasy is as good as traveling through space, time, and different dimensions to find such things.

Leave a Reply

