William and Kate– Across the Pond

Even a checked-out geek like me can recognize these two...

 What does an American 14-year-old care about the royal wedding?

This one cares quite a bit, actually. As a slightly manic Anglophile and proudly self-proclaimed royalist, I am enchanted by this event– though I must admit that it has been over-hyped and commercialized. I haven’t seen that abominable made-for-TV William and Kate movie (pull out those Royal Wedding Sick Bags!), and I haven’t ordered up my replica of the royal engagement ring for the low-low price of $19.99 or thereabouts. But I digress.

Many Americans will be tuning in to the early broadcast of the wedding– it airs at 6 AM here– on the 29th, myself among them. For me, and many others, witnessing the nuptials of the future King of England is worth braving the early hour. Local tea shops are opening as early as 5 AM for the wedding; meanwhile, our newspapers are highlighting William and Kate party-holders in the area and our news channels update us on the latest rumors about the wedding every hour or so.Yes, the royal wedding furor has crossed the Atlantic.

P.S. Apologies for the recent month-long hiatus. Though I likely won’t be going back to my every-other-day posting schedule, I plan to continue blogging– given in a more low-key manner. More on that later.

One response to “William and Kate– Across the Pond

  1. Stayed up to watch it live! Fell asleep throughout most of it. Was tickled to death by that Princess’s atrocious hat. Wish there was more Beckham!

Leave a Reply

