In My Mailbox (4)

It’s been a while since I’ve had much of a Mailbox, but I had quite a batch of books this week…

A local bookstore was having a going-out-of-business sale, and I managed to rescue these at a low-low price. These should keep me reading for months!

Zombies Vs. Unicorns edited by Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier

This is a collection of short stories by various authors intended to resolve at last the long standing debate of whether unicorns or zombies are more awesome. Can you say “dork out”?

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare (The Mortal Instruments #1)

People have been telling me to read this for ages. My only qualm is that I’ll get hooked on the series and be forced to go on epic quests through bookstores and libraries to find the sequels.

Nevermore by Kelly Creagh

This would never have made it on to my radar (I mean, the main character is a cheerleader) had it not been for the Edgar Allan Poe theme–that sealed the deal for me. This book has been on my To Be Read list since last year, and I can’t wait to dig in.

The Gift by James Patterson and Ned Rust (Witch & Wizard #2)

Though I gave Book One of this series a lukewarm review, I’ve found myself wondering what happens to Whit and Wisty. Then I found this lone hardcover on the discount shelves. It’s like it was meant to be.

Emily the Strange: The Lost Days by Rob Reger and Jessica Gruner

I bought this one on impulse. It’s a rare sort of book that can include the word “earwigs” in the summary.

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld (Leviathan #1)

I’ve heard nothing but good about this book, and, based on the cover and summary, it has a little bit of a steampunk theme going on. That, in addition to a strong female character, makes this irresistable to me.

I also have this checked out of the library:

Trickster’s Queen by Tamora Pierce

I’m currently reading–or more accurately, devouring–this, the sequel to Trickster’s Choice. More on all that coming soon…

8 responses to “In My Mailbox (4)

  1. Megan Swicegood

    Some great books here – I love Cassandra Clare’s stuff. I also loved Leviathan.

    Happy Reading!
    Megan @ Read It, See It

  2. I also got City of Bones this week and am actually reading it right now! It’s extremely good so far. Hope you enjoy your new reads.

    My IMM can be found here!

  3. I have Zombies vs. Unicorns and Leviathan (plus the sequel!). I never thought unicorns could be cool. Or that zombies could be so much more than eating people. It was very strange, but fun, and highly entertaining.
    Leviathan is great too, a very original, quirky sort of adventure in my opinion. I hope you enjoy them both!

  4. Hey those are awesome finds! Sad that the bookstore had to close down though…:'(

    I wanted to read the zombie vs. unicorns one, ever since I started to read about zombies and unicorns and zombie-unicorns in all the YA out there now… 😛

    And I’m curious about Leviathan. I wonder if I will like it…I think I’ve gotten over my steampunk phase.

    And I read and reviewed City of Bones a while ago. I thought this one was pretty creative (back then, anyway). But I never got around to continuing the trilogy.

  5. Great choice of books !You’ll be ADDICTED to The Mortal Instruments series. They also have a prequel series called The Infernal Devices. Those are uber good as well.

  6. Get to reading City of Bones… it’s a great series and will soon be in the theatres (as The Mortal Instruments)… http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1538403/

  7. Looks like you found a series more closely aligned with your feminist perspective. How does your generation define feminism? Social phenomenon are not static entities. If you like detective novels with female main characters, you might like one a read recently, “If the Boots Fit” by Susan Vasquez. This is her first novel in print. You can read my review on my blog (8/10/11… If I were of your generation, I might know how to put a link here…. ha, ha)

    Oscar

Leave a Reply

