The Ravenfeather Cemetery

The cemetery that serves as a backdrop for my short story “Ravenfeather” is indeed based on a real location. I took a bit of creative license, granted–this real-life cemetery isn’t so large that one can walk to the center and not see the road. Other than that, they are essentially the same place. Today I spent a lovely, overcast afternoon in my “Ravenfeather Cemetery.”

The old section of the cemetery has a mix of large monuments and smaller headstones.

Some of the stones are fairly damaged, but most of them are still standing. Some families’ headstones are grouped together and walled off.

This is probably the cemetery’s most intricate example of such an area.

There are rows and rows of headstones. Most of the old ones are spotted with lichen.

This was my original Sam Cooper. By the final version of the story, his name had changed completely and he’d been moved forward in time by over a century.

This is my approximation of the area in which Fay met Sam and Charlotte.

And finally, these are the very oldest stones in the cemetery, worn down to nothing but blank rocks.

15 responses to “The Ravenfeather Cemetery

  1. You set your story… in a cemetary. And I thought I was morbid!

    • I suppose a cemetery isn’t a very warm, fuzzy setting, no. Since I published this story, though, I think I’ve improved in the division of being more subtly macabre.

  2. You pictures are great! It makes me want to read your story. I love having a visual when I’m writing. It really helps set the mood.

  3. …I never knew it was based off of a real cemetary. Heh. It was a great story for sure, though!

  4. Allegra, I never read your article. I’m too cheap. I didn’t want to pay online. (I know, I’m awful.) I’m sure your story rocked. I love your voice. I’ll have to read it another time when it doesn’t cost money. I’m headed to Chicago for a writer’s conference but look forward to reading more of your blog when I return next week.

  5. Usually I don’t read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, very nice post.

Leave a Reply

