A Change of Scenery

I write to you, not from my desk as usual, but from a charming, secluded lakeside cabin. This change of scenery has proved excellent not only for my mental health, but for my writing life. It has certainly reinvigorated my desire to write. That, combined with the all the “family time” and numerous outdoor activities that one engages in on vacation, has unfortunately led me to forget that today was Saturday (posting day) ย until just now.

At the moment, perhaps due to the change of physical scenery, I’m engrossed in a fairly new type of writing. I’m writing a short, entirely modern-day horror story that, believe it or not, doesn’t involve any children or teenagers. And–to top it all off–it’s written mostly in the third person, something I almost never do. I’ve always considered myself a first-person writer; it’s much harder for me to portray emotion in my characters when I’m used “he/she” rather than “I.” Nevertheless, I’m a big believer in experimentation and pushing personal boundaries, so I hope that this new genre and style will help me as a writer.

So, these changes in my environment and writing atmosphere are working wonders to clear out the cobwebs, so to speak, and get me back to creating. Now I must get back to that horror short–I think I’ve found the solution to that tricky climax.

9 responses to “A Change of Scenery

  1. I hope you share your “short” when it’s complete. I want to read that tricky climax.

  2. Secluded lake cabin? They have their good and bad…. Hopefully I won’t forget to post when I go to my cabin! And by the way-that horror “short” sounds good! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Not to toot my own horn here, but I’ll be publishing a post on the ups and downs of different styles of narrating– first person, third person, etc. But you seem to be figuring it out on your own, so I won’t push you.
    Isn’t it funny how a change of scenery helps people write better, even though you write better when you aren’t interested in the scenery?

  4. Late to the post, but… I find it amazing that changing your writing location makes your muse return. It sounds silly, but it really works. My only conclusion is that a writer’s brain is a stubborn, annoying thing that works against you when it has been in the same setting for too long. Like when you’re finishing up a book you’ve been working on for a long time and your brain tells you “This sucks” and bails on you. They call it writer’s block, but I think it’s just a stubborn writer’s brain. ๐Ÿ˜€ I hope you’ll be sending me the short story to read soon!

Leave a Reply

