A Second Attempt

I’m pleased to report that my grand summer plans have completely failed so far. After a few days of editing my novel, I came to the conclusion that another total rewrite was in order, and, despondent from that realization, fell into a writing slump. However, I’m not yet ready to give up on finishing this rewrite before school starts again.  It isn’t quite August yet–there is hope.

Remember last November when I held, in lieu of NaNoWriMo, my own personal Novel Rewrite Finishing Month? I’m going to try the same thing this August. I have a few more days of July with which to review what I have done already and plan where I’m going with the rest of the book. Finishing this rewrite quickly will give me something to work with editing-wise throughout the school year.

As another attempt to start fresh writing-wise, I’m thinking about actually undertaking NaNoWriMo this year. Almost everyone here is a seasoned NaNoWriMo participant–what are your thoughts on the benefit of this exercise? Is there anything in particular I should know before getting into it?

6 responses to “A Second Attempt

  1. I feel you. Im just in the middle of novel editing and I just can’t stand it anymore because I need more work. Those darn middles. And yes, I definitely recommend NaNo, it’s hard work but fun, might do it again this year… if I finish those darn rewrites that is…

  2. The only thing you must know before getting into NaNoWriMo: you must finish. Just don’t stop, no matter how much it hurts.

    If you hadn’t added that last paragraph, I would have shouted at you to do NaNoWriMo this year anyway.

  3. NaNoWriMo is really good if you want to get a story down, and it helps to improve your writing. (At least, it improved my writing.) I would highly encourage you to do it, though you should know that there’s always the danger of falling into the “I just want to get this over with and so I’m going to write really crappily” hole. But it’s fun! (And then it’s not fun, and then you have to do Write or Die until you finish…)

Leave a Reply

