The Toujou Blog Award

Thanks, Nevillegirl!

Rules

1. If tagged you must tag five others, giving each a quick sentence as to why you always read their posts, and tell them that you’ve tagged them.

2. If tagged you must post your five favorite words. I know, I know, most people do facts, but facts are hard to think of, so…

3. If and only if you want to/can be bothered to/have time to you can put up five questions for the people you’ve tagged. If and only if you want to/can be bothered to/have time to you can answer the five questions your tagger set. If you want to answer questions but your tagger left none, answer your own questions.

First off, I’d like to thank Nevillegirl again for her kind words: “Allegra writes really good book reviews and strange ramblings about random things.” To have my blog described as “strange” is the highest praise I could ask for.

Now, for my nominees.

John Hansen at The Incessant Droning of a Bored Writer. John always writes informative, entertaining posts on the publishing industry, and besides that, he’s a great, encouraging writing friend–one of the only people who can put up with my morbidity.

Aloha at Embracing InsanityAloha doesn’t blog too often nowadays, but her posts are always witty and fun to read. I’ve been reading her posts religiously for about a year now.

Tayqlor at Novel JourneysShe writes lots of great book-related posts and is very well-read. I trust her taste.

Miriam Joy at Miriam Joy WritesMiriam’s posts are always well written and thought out, and she makes great commentary on the life of a young writer. She’s also a fellow fan of Doctor Who and Sherlock, which makes her automatically awesome. (Miriam: I know you already got the award, so you don’t have to go through the rigmarole again. Unless you really want to.)

Pherisphena Ladea at The Word Asylum. Pheris writes wonderful posts on a variety of topics and is also a good Twitter buddy of mine. She was the first to comfort me when Pottermore put me in Slytherin instead of Ravenclaw.

All right, now onward with my favorite words!

  1. Taphophilia. This word is derived from the Greek “taphos,” tomb, and means “a love of funerals, graves, and cemeteries.” I love words with “ph” in them, and taphophilia has two. It’s also relevant to my life and my writing.
  2. Zounds. Why would anyone say “wow” when there’s “zounds” instead?
  3. Petrichor. This word describes the smell after a rain in a dry region. I only know about it because of Doctor Who, but it’s stuck with me.
  4. Heir. I love how this one looks and sounds.
  5. Ennui. This fancy French-crossing-into-English word for boredom appears in Edward Gorey’s The Gashlycrumb Tinies. And yes, if Gashlycrumb were an actual word, it would definitely be on this list.

Now to answer the questions that Nevillegirl left for me…

  1. Would you dress up in a gigantic chipmunk costume for a day, and why and why not? Yes, I would, because I love chipmunks’ natural color schemes and it’s always good to resist the norm.
  2. Who scared you most when you were little? The Wicked Witch of the West from The Wizard of Oz. I adored that movie and wanted to be just like Dorothy, but I always made my parents fast-forward past the parts with the witch. She terrified me.
  3. What do you think the color purple tastes like? Rich and decadent like a lava cake, but without the chocolate part. It would definitely be a sweet color, not a savory color.
  4. What kind of shark would you be, and why? I’d be a spined pygmy shark, because it uses bioluminescence to disguise itself from predators (as I tend to hide my true personality until I’m absolutely certain a person is trustworthy) and has no economic value and is not fished commercially (as I’m strange and useless and people tend to leave me alone).
  5. What is your favorite palindrome? Murder for a jar of red rum.

Now here are the questions I present to anyone choosing to act on their nominations.

  1. If you had a chance to start life over as a character in your favorite work of fiction, would you take it? Why or why not?
  2. What’s your most loved article of clothing?
  3. Would you be more likely to survive a zombie apocalypse or an alien invasion?
  4. What would your preferred undercover alias be?
  5. What’s your favorite month?
One response to “The Toujou Blog Award

  1. O_O Miriam’s been nominated at least three times… Hahahaha!

Leave a Reply

